Wirral South

General Election result, June 2001

Labour hold
Ben Chapman Labour 18,89047.4%
Tony Millard Conservative 13,84134.8%
Phill Gilchrist LibDem 7,08717.8%

Electorate 60,653; Turnout 65.6%; Majority 5,049 (12.7%)

Swing: 0.9% to Con from Lab; Declared: 1.10am

General Election result, May 1997

Labour hold
B Chapman Labour 24,499 50.94%
L Byrom Conservative 17,495 36.38%
P Gilchrist LibDem 5,018 10.43%
D Wilcox Referendum 768 1.60%
J Nielsen ProLife 264 0.55%
G Mead Natural Law 51 0.11%

Electorate: 59,321; Turnout: 81.08%; Lab majority 7,004 (14.56%)

Swing from Con to Lab of 15.40%

The Wirral South by-election took place on Thursday 27th February 1997.

LABOUR GAIN: (created a minority government of 1)

Chapman, James KeithLabour22,767
Byrom, Leslie ThomasConservative14,879
Clucas, Helen FloraLiberal Democrat4,357
North, RichardUK Independence Party410
Bence, HaroldCompany Director184
Cullen, MichaelSocialist Labour Party156
Gott, PhilipDisillusioned Conservatives148
Taylor, RogerIndependent132
Samuelson, AnthonyStop Conservatives Poncing on Tobacco Companies124
Mead, GeoffreyNatural Law Party52
Palmer, Colin Richard21st Century Independent Foresters Party44
Astbury, FrederickThalidomide Action Group UK Party40

Turnout = 73%, Labour Majority = 7,888
Swing from Conservative to Labour = 17.0%

The 1992 result

G.B. PorterConservative25,59050.8%
Ms. H.M. SouthworthLabour17,40734.6%
E.T. CunniffeLibDem6,58113.1%
N. BirchenoughGP584*1.1%
G. GriffithsNatural Law182*0.4%

Electorate: 61,135; turnout: 82.3 %;
*=lost deposit

arrow Back to MPs and constituencies page.
arrow Back to MP's index 1997
Last Modified: 10/22/12