Parliamentary By-election Glasgow East

24th July 2008

The by-election followed the resignation of David Marshall.

[S] SNP gain

John MasonSNP11,27743.08%
Margaret CurranLabour10,91241.69%
Davena RankinConservative1,6396.26%
Ian RobertsonLiberal Democrat9153.50%
Frances CurranScottish Socialist Party5552.12%
Tricia McLeishSolidarity5121.96%
Dr Eileen DukeScottish Greens2320.89%
Chris CreightonInd670.26%
Hamish HowittFreedom4Choice650.25%

Electorate: 62,051; Turnout: 42.18%;
Majority: 365 (1.39%)
Total vote: 26,174 + 45 spoiled papers

General election result

back Return to constituency index
Last Modified: 22 Oct 12