Parliamentary By-election Glasgow North East

12th November 2009 2009

The by-election followed the resignation of The Speaker, Michael Martin.

[S] Labour gain

William BainLabour12,23159.39%
David KerrScottish National Party4,12020.00%
Ruth DavidsonConservative1,0755.22%
Charlie BaillieBritish National Party1,0134.92%
Tommy SheridanSolidarity7943.86%
Eileen BaxendaleLiberal Democrat4742.30%
David DohertyScottish Greens3321.61%
John SmeatonIndependent Backed by the Jury Team2581.25%
Kevin McVeyScottish Socialist Party1520.74%
Mikey HughesIndependent540.26%
Louise McDaidSocialist Labour Party470.23%
Mev BrownIndependent320.16%
Colin CampbellThe Individuals Labour and Tory (Tilt)130.06%

Electorate: 62,507; Total vote: 20,595; Turnout: 32.95%;
Majority: 8,111 (39.38%);
Postal votes issued: 6,065; postal votes cast: 3,803 (62.70% of those issued, 18.47% of total vote)

General election result

back Return to constituency index
Last Modified: 22 Oct 12