Parliamentary By-election

19th July 2007

The by-election followed the resignation of Tony Blair.

[E] Labour hold

Philip WilsonLabour12,52844.80%
Gregory StoneLiberal Democrat5,57219.93%
Graham RobbConservative4,08214.60%
Andrew SpenceBNP2,4948.92%
Paul GittinsInd1,8856.74%
Toby HortonUKIP5361.92%
Christopher HaineGreen3481.24%
Stephen GashThe English Democrats - "Putting England First!"1770.63%
Timothy GraingerChristian Party "Proclaiming Christ's Lordship"1770.63%
Alan "Howling Laud" HopeOfficial Monster Raving Loony1290.46%
Norman ScarthAnti-Crime340.12%

Electorate: 67,314; Turnout: 41.54%;
Total vote: 27,962; Majority: 6,956 (24.88%); 11.06% swing to LibDem

General election result

back Return to constituency index
Last Modified: 22 Oct 12