UK General Election results May 2005 UK General Election results May 2005

5th May 2005

Aggregate data and statistical breakdowns
By-elections since May 2005
Election website

UK homepage
PSR homepage

646 constituencies

Aberavon — Barrow & Furness Basildon — Birmingham Northfield Birmingham Perry Barr — Brent North Brent South — Cambridgeshire North West Cambridgeshire South — Clwyd South Clwyd West — Derby South Derbyshire North East — Durham North Durham North West — Essex North Exeter — Grantham & Stamford Gravesham — Hendon Henley — Islington South & Finsbury Islwyn — Lewisham West Leyton & Wanstead — Meriden Merthyr Tydfil & Rhymney — Norfolk North West Norfolk South — Pontefract & Castleford Pontypridd — Rotherham Rugby & Kenilworth — Sittingbourne & Sheppey Skipton & Ripon — Streatham Stretford & Urmston — Tooting Torbay — Warrington South Warwick & Leamington — Woodspring Worcester — Yorkshire East

I have mostly avoided abbreviations for party names, though I have used some, usually where the party is commonly known by the abbreviation. In some cases candidates had no description; since this doesn't seem to have any political significance, I have counted them as Independent. Abbreviations used are:-

BNP- British National Party
Ind - Independent
GB - Great Britain
LibDem- Liberal Democrats
Loony - Official Monster Raving Loony Party
SDLP - Social Democratic and Labour Party
SNP - Scottish National Party

Source: The Electoral Commission
Please see the note on the accuracy of the 2017 election results

arrow UK General Elections since 1832

Political Science Resources
© Richard Kimber
Last Modified: 10 Feb 18