Parliamentary By-election

28th February 2012

The by-election followed the resignation of Chris Huhne.

[E] Liberal Democrat hold

Mike ThorntonLiberal Democrat13,34232.06%
Diane JamesUKIP11,57127.80%
Maria HutchingsConservative10,55925.37%
John O'FarrellLabour4,0889.82%
Danny StuppleIndependent7681.85%
Iain MaclennanNational Health Action Party3920.94%
Ray HallBeer, Baccy and Crumpet Party2350.56%
Kevin MilburnChristian Party "Proclaiming Christ's Lordship"1630.39%
Howling Laud HopeMonster Raving Loony William Hill Party1360.33%
Jim DugganPeace Party1280.31%
David BishopElvis Loves Pets Party720.17%
Michael WaltersEnglish Democrats700.17%
Daz ProcterTrade Unionist and Socialist Coalition620.15%
Colin BexWessex Regionalist300.07%

Electorate: 79,004; Turnout: 52.68%;
Majority: 1,771 (4.26%); Total valid vote: 41,616
19.34% swing from LibDem to UKIP

General election result

back Return to constituency index
Last Modified: 24 Feb 15