Parliamentary By-election

Oldham East & Saddleworth

13th January 2011

The by-election followed the declaration by an election court on 5th November 2010 that the original result was void because the Labour candidate, Phil Woolas, had made misleading statements about his LibDem opponent. Woolas was also banned from standing as a candidate for three years.

[E] Labour hold

Debbie AbrahamsLabour14,71842.14%
Elwyn WatkinsLiberal Democrat11,16031.95%
Kashif AliConservative4,48112.83%
Paul Nuttall MEPUKIP2,0295.81%
Derek AdamsBNP1,5604.47%
Peter AllenGreen5301.52%
The Flying BrickMonster Raving Loony Party1450.42%
Stephen MorrisEnglish Democrats1440.41%
Loz KayePirate Party of the United Kingdom960.27%
David BishopBus-Pass Elvis Party670.19%

Electorate: 72,788; Total vote: 34,930; Turnout: 47.99%;
Majority: 3,558 (10.19%)
4.98% swing from LibDem to Labour

General election result

back Return to constituency index
Last Modified: 24 Feb 15