Parliamentary By-election
Rochester & Strood

20th November 2014

The by-election followed the defection of the Conservative MP MJ Reckless to UKIP.

[E] UKIP gain

Mark John RecklessUKIP16,86742.07%
Kelly Jane TolhurstConservative13,94734.78%
Naushabah Parveen KhanLabour6,71316.74%
Clive Bryn Malcolm GregoryGreen Party - Say No To Racism1,6924.22%
Geoffrey JubyLiberal Democrat3490.87%
Norman DavidsonOfficial Monster Raving Loony Party1510.38%
Stephen William GoldsbroughIndependent690.17%
Nicholas Reginald LongPeople Before Profit690.17%
Jayda Kaleigh FransenVote British!560.14%
Michael Alexander BarkerIndependent540.13%
Lady Charlotte RoseIndependent430.11%
David Anthony OsbornPatriotic Socialist Party330.08%
Christopher Richard ChallisIndependent220.05%

Electorate: 79,163; Total valid vote: 40,095; Turnout: 50.65%;
Majority: 2,920 (7.28%)

Rejected ballots: 48
Postal ballots: 9,405

General election result

back Return to constituency index
Last Modified: 22 Nov 14