Parliamentary By-election

29th November 2012

The by-election followed the the resignation of Denis MacShane after the House of Commons Standards and Privileges Committee found that he had submitted false invoices.

[E] Labour hold

CHAMPION, Sarah DeborahLabour Party9,96646.46%
COLLINS, Jane MariaUKIP4,64821.67%
GUEST, MarleneBNP1,8048.41%
RIDLEY, YvonneRespect (George Galloway)1,7788.29%
WILSON, Simon FrancisConservative Party1,1575.39%
WILDGOOSE, David BasilEnglish Democrats7033.28%
COPLEY, Simon KeithIndependent5822.71%
BECKETT, MichaelLiberal Democrats4512.10%
DYSON, RalphTrade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts2811.31%
DICKSON, PaulIndependent510.24%
BRISTOW, Clint-290.14%

Electorate: 63,420; Turnout: 33.82%;
Majority: 5,318 (24.79%)

General election result

back Return to constituency index
Last Modified: 24 Feb 15