Text version
Welcome to Derby

Pictures of Derby


Site Search
Advanced Search #
Help using this website
A-Z of Council Services
Contacting us
Have Your Say on our Services
Freedom of Information
Tourist Information
Council Tax
Locations of Council Offices
Travelling to Derby and Local Maps
Find My Nearest . . .

Election 2006

On 4 May, people in Derby voted for candidates in the elections to Derby City Council. One Councillor has been elected in each of the city's 17 wards.  This means that all eligible electors in the city were able to vote for a local councillor on 4 May. 

View the results

For a list of candidates at the elections click List of Candidates Document Icon(10Kb)

To find out more about registering to vote and elections click Registering to Vote.

To find out more about electoral matters in general follow this link to the Electoral CommissionLink to Electoral Commission Website

Key Dates

Tuesday 18 April                      Last day for requests for new postal vote or to change or cancel an existing postal vote or proxy appointment.
Not later than 5pm

Thursday 27 April                     Delivery of postal votes starts.

Thursday 4 May                        Last day for application to vote by proxy on grounds of medical emergency.
Not later than 5pm

Thursday 4 May                        Polling day
7am to 10pm


Candidate Party Votes cast
Samuel James Greer, known as Jaz Labour 1134
Deirdre Christine Mitchell Liberal Democrat 1365
Stephen Lee Shelton Green Party 184
Robin John Wood Conservative 299

Elected : Liberal Democrat

Turn out : 26.7%

Candidate Party Votes cast
Roger Anthony Jackson Liberal Democrat 763
Margot Elaine Keats Labour 962
Roy Michael Webb Conservative 3228

Elected : Conservative

Turn out : 46.3%

Candidate Party Votes cast
Jonathan Paul Bayliss, known as Paul Labour 1226
Julie Ginns Liberal Democrat 1455
Simon Richard Hart Conservative 486
Jean MacDonald Green Party 201

Elected : Liberal Democrat

Turn out : 31.9%

Candidate Party Votes cast
Rehmet Khan Liberal Democrat 1454
Abdul Rehman Labour 1394
Mohammed Yaqub Conservative 540

Elected : Liberal Democrat

Turn out : 35.4%

Candidate Party Votes cast
David Charles Greenway Conservative 724
Bhagat Singh Shanker, known as Baggy Labour 1283
Clare Shelton Green Party 206
Ruth Skelton Liberal Democrat 2085

Elected : Liberal Democrat

Turn out : 45%

Candidate Party Votes cast
Ranjit Ryan Banwait Labour 1536
Grahame Elson Liberal Democrat 364
Brenda Jean Longworth Independent 729
Adam Michael Thomas Conservative 699

Elected : Labour

Turn out : 33.6%

Candidate Party Votes cast
David Robert Batey Liberal Democrat 477
Sara Frances Bolton Labour 1541
Alan Leslie Grimadell Conservative 1273

Elected : Labour

Turn out : 33.8%

Candidate Party Votes cast
John Phillip Banks Liberal Democrat 338
Philip John Ingall, known as Phil Labour 1717
Paul Willitts Conservative 1709

Elected : Labour

Turn out : 37.3%

Candidate Party Votes cast
Wendy Maria Harbon Liberal Democrat 1393
Andrew Richard Hill Conservative 831
Martin Jeffrey Repton Labour 1250
Jane Sarah Temple Green Party 348

Elected : Liberal Democrat

Turn out : 41.2%

Candidate Party Votes cast
Christopher Goacher Liberal Democrat 288
Franklyn Alfred Harwood, known as Frank Conservative 677
David Roberts, known as Dave Labour 1179
William Arthur Wright, known as Bill Independent 312

Elected : Labour

Turn out : 17.5%

Candidate Party Votes cast
Terry Boston Conservative 1057
Lucy Helen Care Liberal Democrat 2603
Jogindar Singh Johal Labour 586

Elected : Liberal Democrat

Turn out : 43.8%

Candidate Party Votes cast
Raymond Samuel Baxter Labour 1331
Lorraine Anne Brown Liberal Democrat 606
Alexander Grey Williams Conservative 737

Elected : Labour

Turn out : 29.4%

Candidate Party Votes cast
Clair Hinson Labour 613
Matthew Edward Holmes Conservative 2022
Marilyn Fay Winter, known as Fay Liberal Democrat 2421

Elected : Liberal Democrat

Turn out : 45.9%

Candidate Party Votes cast
Masadiq Hussain Conservative 601
Harjinder Singh Naitta, known as Joe Liberal Democrat 839
Christopher Williamson Labour 1657

Elected : Labour

Turn out : 31.6%

Candidate Party Votes cast
Eric Ashburner Liberal Democrat 317
Pauline Elizabeth Latham Conservative 1753
Henrik Skov Green Party 234
Phillip Grahame Woodhead Labour 780

Elected : Conservative

Turn out : 31%

Candidate Party Votes cast
Leigh Alcock Liberal Democrat 549
Randeep Kaur Samra Conservative 362
Robin Cyril Turner Labour 1295

Elected : Labour

Turn out : 24.6%

Candidate Party Votes cast
Richard Morgan Labour 1028
Patrick Edward Joseph Peat Liberal Democrat 550
Christopher Paul Poulter Conservative 2145

Elected : Conservative

Turn out : 39.9%


Terms and Conditions | Privacy Statement